Call to Members: Nominations for Executive Council

Screenwriting Research Network

Annual General Meeting 2015, University of London

Call to Members: Nominations for Executive Council

According to the Constitution of the Screenwriting Research Network (SRN), clauses 5.1 and 5.2 (adopted at the Annual General Meeting 2014), the SRN is managed by an Executive of a minimum of five persons, to a maximum of nine persons, For 2014-15 there were six members of the Executive, and the current Executive has decided that this number shall remain the same for 2015-16.

Under Constitution clause 5.3 each member shall serve for two years. Three of the current Executive members were elected in 2013 and three in 2014. The 2013 appointments are now coming to an end, and there are therefore three posts vacant from September 2015.

I, Dr. Jule Selbo ( have agreed to act as the Elections Officer. I, along with a scrutineer, will oversee the nomination and election process, and ensure that it is fair and properly conducted. The scrutineer is part of the process, in accordance with the Constitution clause 5.8.

Nominations, due no later that 21 July, 2015, were directed to me: Current executive council members were able to offer themselves for re-election. All nominees must be aged 18 or over and have been a member of the SRN for one year or more. If there are more than three nominations, elections will be organized at the Annual General Meeting to be held on Saturday 12th September 2015, during the SRN annual international conference at the University of London.

This year we have 5 (five) nominations, proposed and seconded by 2 members of the network. (You find here the Nominations)

Any nomination should include the names and contact details of the proposer and seconder, and a short statement (max. 250 words) explaining why you are seeking election, or re-election. This notice is coming to you a few days after it was promised, however there is time to note the nominees and vote.

I am now forwarding to SRN members the 5 (five) nominees for their consideration. Please click here. In accordance with the Constitution clause 5.9, those not attending the Annual General Meeting will be given the opportunity to vote by sending a confidential email to the Election Officer, at any time after receiving nominations.

Email votes must be received by the Election Officer no later than September 10th 2015, 12:00 British Summer Time (BST). Members attending the AGM in person may cast their vote on the day of the election, by secret ballot. Both sets of votes will be counted together. The three candidates with the most votes each will be declared elected.

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. Those not attending the conference and wish to vote; please send email to Jule Selbo; all voting information will be kept confidential. Email:

Best to all

Jule Selbo PhD

Professor, California State University, Fullerton

Fullerton, CA USA