The Screenwriting Research Network is a research group consisting of scholars, reflective practitioners, and practice-based researchers interested in research on screenwriting. The aim is to rethink the screenplay in relation to its histories, theories, values, and creative practices.

The network commenced in 2006 within the Louis Le Prince Research Centre, at the University of Leeds.

During the last fourteen years, the network has grown rapidly. Yearly conferences have attracted a growing number of people around the world to share experiences and discuss the problematics of screenwriting research.

The conferences have taken place in Leeds (2008), Helsinki (2009), Copenhagen (2010), Brussels (2011), Sydney (2012), Madison, Wisconsin (2013) Potsdam-Babelsberg (2014), London (2015), Leeds (2016), Dunedin, NZ, (2017), Milan (2018), Porto (2019), online in Oxford (2021) and Vienna (2022).  In May 2015, the SRN also widened the geographic spread to Latin America, with a Special Conference in Santiago, Chile. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 13th SRN Annual Conference, originally due to take place in 2020 in Oxford (UK), was replaced by the SRN2021 Seminar Series Online. The next in-person conference is scheduled to take place in September 2023 in Columbia, Missouri (USA).