SRN Awards 2021 – 2022 – Call for Nominations



The SRN AWARDS will celebrate their 3rd edition at the 2022 Conference at Vienna this September 2022.

We invite all members and colleagues to submit Nominations for the best publications of 2021/2022 by the deadline of 31 May 2022 for articles published between 1 June 2021 & 31 May 2022.

Both nominations and self-nominations are welcome.

The Awards this year will be again in two categories: 


Best Monograph – for single-authored or co-authored volumes (any format)

Best Journal Article/Book Chapter – Both articles and chapters normally range around 6-8,000 words but the format may vary.


While no ratings of journals/publishers will be a factor in the evaluation of submissions, all publications should be scholarly, fully peer-reviewed work underpinned by substantial research specifically in the area of Screenwriting Studies.

Submitted titles must have been published between 1 June 2021 & 31 May 2022.

All submissions will be evaluated independently by our Jury of distinguished academics: Professor Emeritus Tom Stempel, Associate Professor Eva Novrup Redvall and Professor Carmen Sofia Brenes.

Winners will be announced at the 2022 SRN Conference in Vienna.


Guidelines for the submission of nominations

All submissions in both categories should be made directly to all three members of the Jury (see contact details below) by 31 May 2022. However, early submissions are most welcome and encouraged.

MONOGRAPHS – Nominees and self-nominees should send hard copies of their monographs directly to each Juror via regular mail/courier. Publishers are usually happy to supply complimentary evaluation/inspection copies: only where this is really not possible (including, for instance, volumes due out very close to the deadline), authors can send a PDF copy of the approved preprint manuscript (in this case via email) as a backup option.

ARTICLES/CHAPTERS – Individual journal articles (i.e. not the whole journal) or chapters (i.e. not the whole book) should be sent as PDF (as per preprint approved draft) directly to the Jurors via email.


Contact details for all submissions:

Tom Stempel, 2711 Coolidge Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90064, USA. Email:

Eva Novrup Redvall Dept. of Communication, University of Copenhagen, Southern Campus, Karen Blixens Vej 8, 2300 Copenhagen S, Denmark. Email:

Carmen Sofia Brenes, School of Humanities and Communication, Universidad Finis Terrae, Av. Pedro de Valdivia 1509, Providencia, RM, Chile. Email: 


If you have any enquiries, please contact Margaret McVeigh.